PDA

View Full Version : How is Quadro 4000m perform on Shot?



BankSR
11-15-2011, 09:46 PM
I am using Shot Pro (2011) on my Macbook Pro (Geforce 330m GT). I normally light up the sense with emissive material and it is quite slow when rendering. So I plan to buy a new laptop with Quadro 4000m but I am not sure how much it will be faster?

My geforce 330m GT has 48 CUDA while Quadro 4000M has 336. Will it be 7 time faster? Does anyone has any idea?

david.randle
11-15-2011, 10:06 PM
Hi BankSR -

the 4000m will certainly be significantly faster. It will be hard for me to tell you exactly how much as i can't copare the two physically. There will be some loss so i can't imagine it being exactly 7 times faster but i would say that it should be at least 4-5x as fast. The key thing as well is that the 4000m has more VRAM so you can load larger geometry, scenes and more textures.

jlowap
11-18-2011, 02:26 PM
The Quadro 4000 is pretty good so I imagine the 4000m is pretty good too :)

very technical answer that! :)

BankSR
11-18-2011, 04:24 PM
Thank you. :)
I will update to a new laptop. I prefer using a desktop but I can't afford two licenses at once so I will get dell precision m6600 with quadro 4000m. I hope it perform close to the quadro 4000.

scampbel
01-30-2012, 06:45 PM
I think you can call bunkkspeed and pay another 500 and convert your license to "floating"

CAClark1411
02-01-2012, 10:53 AM
I use a Quadro4000 (not a 4000m) which is pretty good, but not blindingly quick, and the polylimit seems o max out at about 5 million polys before it crashes quite regularly. Up to that limit however stability has been very good in my experience.

Cheers!

andy
02-01-2012, 02:29 PM
I think you can call bunkkspeed and pay another 500 and convert your license to "floating"

This doesn't help laptop users much when they don't have internet and the ability to connect via VPN.
Unless checking out the license works, and continues to work after a restart. Can that be confirmed?
I've had problems with FlexLM not checking in/out when you crash while using it. It thinks someone else checked it out, even though it was you, so then the only way to reset it is to kill it from your server. If you've always got internet and VPN access back to your server then you should be golden though.