PDA

View Full Version : Anyone using a 3DBoxx workstation?

haknslash
02-29-2012, 05:02 PM
Currently I have dual cards (see sig) but my machine still isn't as fast as I'd like it to render or handle files in Shot in real time. I am a design engineer in the manufacturing industry but I'm also the companies 'go-to guy' for all things rendering, specialty modeling, animations etc) so I use a slew of Autodesk Products (Inventor, 3DS Max, Alias, Mudbox, etc). My IT department isn't a fan of me using a "gaming card" on a machine that uses the ADSK products. I understand their initial concerns but I also know of people who use gaming cards on 'workstation' machines and have no issues.

So last year I set aside an ear holder for buying another machine. After my experiences, I'm always skeptical about anyone that creates a computer, software, whatever that claims it can 'handle it all' or is a true all-in-one package. Rarely has this ever worked out quite right or 'as advertised'. There is always something that gets left off or has an issue. But I have seen some of the Boxx Technologies products in person, specifically the Render Farm (drool :D) and the small RenderPro dedicated personal rendering solution. I have yet to play with or see in person how the 3DBoxx machine (fully spec'd out) performs.

I've read all the white papers and published comparison reviews on the 3DBoxx workstation...but I would like to hear from real-world people who are doing both engineering/design work as well as creating renders and animations using Shot, 3DS Max, etc. So does such a person exist on this forum? If so I'd love to hear your thoughts on how the unit performs in real-world duty.

haknslash
03-13-2012, 12:01 PM
No replies so I take it I will be the first on here as the guinee pig?! :)

Got the approval from upper management for my new system to replace my Z800 in my sig.