PDA

View Full Version : Bring over part names when importing from Solidworks.



artem
05-04-2012, 04:44 PM
It would help tremendously if when I import a large assembly from solidworks, the parts would retain their names, so I don't have to squint looking at the tiny thumbnail and guess if thats the part I need.

andy
05-04-2012, 05:02 PM
+1 for rhino layer names, since layer=part
+1 for 3dsMax (BTW fbx from 2013 doesn't work?)
+1 for step files, which should work from solidworks And proE

amoncur
05-05-2012, 01:14 AM
Here, here. This would be very helpful.

david.randle
05-05-2012, 04:59 AM
any volunteers to program this?

amoncur
05-05-2012, 02:21 PM
I nominate Bunkspeed :)

andy
05-07-2012, 11:55 AM
I bet if you open that section up a bit some of the community would do it, but I'm guessing David's remark was one of sarcasm and amoncur's remark is exactly how I feel about it.

artem
05-07-2012, 12:15 PM
What programming language does Bunkspeed use?