PDA

View Full Version : Creating HDR environments and working with HDR in general

artem
05-11-2012, 02:38 PM
Hello,

I was wondering how one would go about creating an HDR environment for bunkspeed? I know during the webinar showing 2012.4, Mr.David Randle mentioned some software that he used to stretch the image out to the state that bunkspeed uses, but I can't remember what that was.

Are there any other useful software to work with HDR?

I'm a total newbie here concerning HDR and any help and advice will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Artem

blitz
05-11-2012, 04:46 PM
I use 3d studio max and vray to create my hdr's using a 360 camera. I believe the software from the webinar that was referred to is hdr light studio software.

andy
05-11-2012, 06:28 PM
yeah, HDR light studio is pretty slick. It's a bit pricey though at a thousand dollars. As long as you get some decent use out of it though, it's totally worth it.

I suppose I Could use Max to create them too, but if I create a full environment....why wouldn't I just use that to render? That way you get physical glossy effects, and need no backplate because it's actual distances from your object instead of your entire map being equidistant from your scene.

david.randle
05-12-2012, 07:02 PM
The two best HDR creation/editing softwares in our opinion are HDR Light Studio and Photoshop CS4 Extended and newer. Using the live edit functionality in our 2012.4 version (which supports both) it makes it really efficient to dial in your lighting.

You can also but a $65,000.00 camera called a Spheron VR which takes HDRI's (wherever you want) ;-)

We also rent out this camera as we own one.

artem
05-14-2012, 03:35 PM
David,

All of your environments are "unwrapped" from the sphere hdr format. Is there an easy way to do that?

haknslash
05-14-2012, 04:22 PM