PDA

View Full Version : Which of my machines to install Shot on?



krk1
09-08-2012, 08:44 PM
Hi, could anyone tell me what their guess on what the performance difference between the following two systems would be? I just purchased Shot and am trying to decide which machine to install it on:

(1) Workstation with 2 Intel X5680 processors (3.33 GHz 6-cores each), Quadro FX1800 graphics (64 cores, 768MB VRAM) and 24 GB system memory.
(2) Notebook with 1 Intel Core i7-3615QM (2.3 GHz 4-core), GeForce GT650M graphics (Kepler 384 cores, 1GB VRAM), and 8 GB system memory.

I'm sure the workstation is faster, but I'd like to know by how much since the notebook is so much more convenient and mobile!

blitz
09-08-2012, 09:24 PM
TBH, its really unpredictable. To give you a comparison, I had a gtx 570 (448 cores) render the same scene vs. my i7 980 (6 core cpu) and my gpu was about 10x faster. However, my card is a fermi, your laptop gpu is a kepler - their cores are not 1:1 equivalent in speed vs. cores (keplers currently deliver much less horsepower per core than fermis). In your case your workstation cpu's might trump all other scenarios for speed. Of course, this is just a hunch.

The best thing you could do is add a GTX 580 to your workstation. It will surpass rendering speed in all of your scenarios currently.

JohnG
09-09-2012, 09:51 AM
Whatever about the number of cores neither of your GPU's have much memory 768Mb vs 1Gb, this will limit the size of the scenes you can work with. Remember your entire scene has to be loaded into the Vram if you want to render on the GPU. Even if your scene does fit into the available Vram your render may not start if you're trying to render a high res image. Then you'll have no choice but to switch to rendering on the CPU which will be slower.

As blitz suggested, getting a more capable GPU for your workstation with 2GB+ of memory is probably your best bet.

pklunn
09-09-2012, 11:11 PM
Try the GTX 670 with 4 MB as an execellent card that won't break the bank!

http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php?name=ZT-670_4G&c=FR&pid=10087ff6cd168fcd384537edc8c948a36af841f94391f3 18f4a92cbd1ad48245&gclid=CNmdnpTCqbICFWHZQgodQ0wA6g

andy
09-10-2012, 11:09 AM
Your laptop will be faster for now. Remember, you can always deactivate the license later, and move it over to your workstation if that gets upgraded. But if it doesn't fit on your card, then for sure, the workstation will be faster. You won't be able to use your Quadro at all. It doesn't have enough memory.

I'd start with your laptop, then do your best to upgrade your workstation. If you Absolutely need a Quadro card then start saving yesterday because the good ones are expensive. Make sure you have at least 2GB of VRAM. Right now you can get 4GB without spending a ton of money, as Philip pointed out. And if you can squeeze an extra 100 bucks, then get an extra 10% speed increase with the 680.
Once the workstation is upgraded, move over the license.