PDA

View Full Version : Advice on lighting?

krk1
07-13-2013, 12:04 AM
I'm an engineer who is trying to do renders of exploded views of some mechanisms. I seem to be having trouble getting the lighting to show everything well. I want it to look natural, but it seems like details I need to show are getting lost in shadows more than I would like. The lighting seems like it's generally a bit harsh, if that's the right term (don't know since I'm just an engineer).

I've noticed that if you look at images of any Apple products, for example, the lighting seems to be much more uniform. I guess that has something to do with the insanely elaborate lighting they use (http://connect.dpreview.com/post/8243287005/apple-photographer-peter-belanger), and I certainly don't expect to be able to replicate that in anywhere near its entirety. But I was wondering if anyone could give any general tips on how to get nice lighting for showing products where you're not really trying to see dramatic reflections etc like that make a car look good, for example. I seem to get a lot of some areas being blown out and others being too dark.

amoncur
07-13-2013, 12:40 AM
Hi krk1, try using a larger light source (create a plane and apply emissive material to it) relative to the size of your exploded view. The larger the light source, the softer the light will be (less harsh shadows). Here's a quick article regarding size: http://improvephotography.com/285/how-to-soft-light-portrait-photography/

krk1
07-14-2013, 06:31 PM
Thanks for the tips. Very useful.

david.randle
07-15-2013, 06:28 AM
or if you don't want to dive into things that deep, look for a softly lit hdri environment with even lighting, such as "Soft Studio".

andy
07-15-2013, 05:37 PM