PDA

View Full Version : how to create rope material?



krk1
08-10-2013, 02:39 PM
I have been finding that I need to model things like rope and threading fairly often. I know that a lot of people use Shot for things like car interiors (which have a lot of stiching in places like steering wheel, seats, gearshift boot, etc. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on superior ways of achieving realistic-looking "rope" materials.

At the moment, I have simply been making "tubing" with a fiberglass material applied. It's better than nothing. But I would really like to get something that really looks like rope/threading/etc and rather less like "piping" made out of fiberglass.

I don't have the luxury of actually modeling the rope down to making the weave of individual 3D fibers. But is it at all possible to come up with a material that, when applied to "tubes" makes something that could be mistaken for one of these ropes (http://www.liros.com/en/products/productfinder/details/detail/liros-dsl.html), for example? The 2-color ones would be extra nice because the two color pattern really makes you think of rope. But does anyone know at least how to make one of the solid color ones? Could I issue a challenge for someone to try?

BrianHillner
08-15-2013, 06:21 PM
Hi krk1 -

Thanks for your message. Most of our users model the stitching/rope in their CAD package and apply materials in Bunkspeed. I was just searching on our Community (use your same credentials for this Forum) and found this material created by Aselert (who is awesome and might be able to give you more insight) http://www.bunkspeed.com/asset/viewasset?assetId=830

Maybe you can use this material as a start to create your desired result? Also, you might be able to achieve somewhat realistic results using a bump map with a color map. Combining both of those texture maps might work.

This material also by Aselert might work for flat fabrics (like woven bracelet) http://www.bunkspeed.com/asset/viewasset?assetId=916

I'd say explore our Community of free assets and see if there are any you can use, at least as a base. http://www.bunkspeed.com/community

andy
08-15-2013, 07:50 PM
Try this one out. It's not great, but it's a start. I crashed a few times while creating it, so quickly got frusted, as the story has always gone with my bunkspeed experience. I also found that if you use backscatter and fast mode you're in for an interesting treat. (by treat I mean bug)
I did the mapping in rhino. If I were to do it again, I'd change it to the largest tile. It's always best to do that. Then you can always increase the tiling of the texture. If you go from 1 to 2 tiles you'll notice it's too much. And you can't do anything in between or the texture won't tile. I quickly made the texture off of junk on the internet, so don't expect too much. But here's the bunkpseed file.
Link (https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/30098323/someRope.bif)

BrianHillner
08-16-2013, 01:23 AM
Awesome, thanks Andy for taking the time to create and post here. Really appreciate it.

Fast mode does not work with well Emissive, Backscattering or Subsurface, since those are all very taxing material types for render engines.

Fast mode does work with Glass, but only when the roughness is set to 0. Fast mode does work with Gem as well, it just doesn't produce the color bounces that Accurate mode does. It renders Thin Film well, like a black oil slick or black pearl, just not the transparent soap bubble look.

All these are expected performance from iray's new biased-renderer. Fast mode's architecture is optimized to render material types much faster than Accurate mode, choosing speed over accuracy, which is why it doesn't perform well on the more taxing material types. Fast mode works great for most material types, but the ones that demand more from iray will only work well in Accurate mode, unleashing all of iray's power.

Sorry for the confusion and I hope this helps!

Best,
Brian

andy
08-16-2013, 11:33 AM
although it would be nice to have it warn you of which items may be causing an issue, that wasn't to what I was referring.
Create something with backscatter applied. Switch to fast mode. Wait for it to get to it's measly 100 frames. Now watch as it loops around again and continues to render forever, starting over each time.

I wasn't saying it was a bug because it doesn't work. If something isn't supported, it isn't supported. I get that. But starting over repeatedly? You might still use fast mode for previews and just ignore your one part having a non-supported material before moving on to accurate mode. But having it constantly start over is probably not good.

BrianHillner
08-16-2013, 06:45 PM
Thanks for the clarification, Andy. Also thanks for letting me know about the bug. I will mark this on our bug fix list; much appreciated.