+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Hardware recommendations

  1. #1
    Member okokoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    52

    Hardware recommendations

    I lately been asked to do a lot more rendering jobs (camera sweeps, 1min long sequences) I absolutely have to get a new rendering machine. Usually I just take 10-15 photos of my fair stands but since my company has grown I need to get my renderings up in speed. I currently have a 4gb GTX680 and a laptop with a mobile quadro 2 or 3000, both with PRO.

    I havent got unlimited money to spend but 2-3titan cards/ 3gtx 780 should be possible. (K6000?)

    Since I know that people here at the forum know this alot better than me I would love to get your opinion on what to buy. Whats the setup to go for?

    DDR MEMORY:
    GC/GC's:
    PROCESSOR:

    I'm planning to use a SSD+Mechanical HDD

    Would be grateful of all the help I could get, most important is speed.

    Best regards,

    Ulf

  2. #2
    Senior Member Aselert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    447
    Memory: 32gb (yes, 16gb is fine, it's true...)
    GPU: 2-3 GTX TITAN
    CPU: Lastest Intel I7 Quad/Hexa/Octocore
    = Best recommandation I have

  3. #3
    Member okokoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    52
    Bought 2x Titans
    32gb ram
    4930k processor.

    Thames for your advice aselert.

  4. #4
    Junior Member sara736's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    1
    You will see no impact on your rendering times. What you will notice is your productivity will improve in terms of manipulating the scene and models especially with other CAD packages open.
    sara

  5. #5
    Administrator david.randle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,252
    @ sara736 - What are you referring to?
    David Randle / General Manager / Bunkspeed

  6. #6
    Member okokoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    52
    Ok, time for another rig since i actually need to work while rendering :-(.

    So.. gonna go with 3x GTX 980 but my question is wheter to go with a "Intel 1150 socket (DDR3)" or to go with the "Intel 2011-3 socket (DDR4)". In which way will this affect the work in Bunkspeed? Huge difference or almost not noticeable?

  7. #7
    Senior Member Aselert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    447
    Compare to the GTX980, the I7 2011 cpu will do nothing for the speed in Bunkspeed. So... 1150 or 2011 socket don't change the render speed in GPU mode

  8. #8
    Okokoo, I'm running 2x Titans and they are ok but not quite as good as I'd hoped for. I would consider maybe 2x 780ti cards which can be had for much cheaper right now and then when the 980's are working with iray, upgrade to those. and move the 780ti's to another box. This way you can have a dedicated render box and work on the other machine.

  9. #9
    Administrator david.randle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,252
    okokoo - We won't be supporting the 900 series cards or any other cards which are Maxwell based until end of Q1 of 2015.
    David Randle / General Manager / Bunkspeed

  10. #10
    Member okokoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    52
    Thanks David. Will wait a while then. :-)

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts