+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: GPU and SLI support - Help needed

GPU and SLI support - Help needed

Hey guys,

I want to buy your rendering software Bunkspeed Shot 2014 and I need a new pc system to run the software properly. Since I read a lot about requirement issues I planned to buy the following system and would be happy if you could "check" whether this system will work and let me have fun with Shot:

Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
    16GB DDR3 RAM
    2x NVIDIA GeForce GTX780 *overclocked*, 3GB GDDR5 (SLI)
    MSI Z87-G45 (Intel® Z87 Express)

Since I am a student I have to save some money to buy the Nvidia Quadro cards in the future... My main question now concerns the 2 Nvidia Geforce cards in SLI mode: Does Bunkspeed shot take advantage of SLI? I would expect that it does, because Shot uses Iray technology from Nvida who also creted SLI. Other option would be to buy a single Nvidia Titan. Here is the comparison from your website:

NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN (6GB, 2688 CUDA cores)
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 (3GB, 2305 CUDA cores)

So what would you buy and why?

Best regards,
    David

Hi David!

No, forget SLI here, you don't need it in GPGPU computing, like Bunkspeed

You're choice is very good! But my advice is to choose the graphics card with the maximum memory (Titan in this case), especially if it's for architectural renders

Thanks for your quick answer! But will SLI not work at all (so Shot will react as it would to a system with only on GTX780) or is Titan Black just a little bit better? And what about the higher CUDA cores in the SLI system? Doesn't Shot take advantage of more Cuda cores? Sorry for ansking again, but i am not too familiar with GPU issues

In fact, SLI isn't needed because it ins't for gaming here. So Shot/Pro/Drive will use every available GPU in the PC with the same speed importance, and with a near linear acceleration (1 GPU= 100%, 2 GPU = 198%, 3 GPU = 296% roughly, by example).