+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Texture Mapping Problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member Phimy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    18

    Texture Mapping Problem

    I am having problems wrapping textures around cylindrical imported objects. No matter what file format I import for the model or the texture, how I position or repeat this, I am experiencing the same phenomenon. The complete texture file is always repeated (and squashed) in a small patch of the cylinder, covering approximately 5 degrees of the surface. I havenít been able to find any way of hiding or disguising this.
    mappingproblem.jpg
    For single renders, I can always rotate the part so that this area is hidden, but this is no use when it comes to creating turntable animations.

    I have managed to use decals as a work around, but this can be laborious when an artwork needs to be repeated several times around the circumference and when various options are required quickly.

    The only way that I have managed to create a texture completely around a cylinder is by creating a tube model in Bunkspeed and using the UV mapping setting. Even when I change the setting for this type of model to cylindrical mapping, I experience the same problem.

    My models are all built in Creo Parametric 2.0 and I have been exporting in OBJ format (setting units as Meters and turning off Auto-Size when importing, as previously suggested here (thanks!)) and have not been using the plug-in as this has created other strange results Ė Iím not sure if the plugin is only meant to work on Creo 1.0 at the moment?

    Iím thinking the only solution to this is UV mapping a texture before exporting, but Iím not sure if this is even possible in Creo?

    I understand that there may be some sort of programming reason why the renderer has to create a seam area. As Iím placing artworks, rather than complete textures, I wouldnít mind so much if this 5 degree area was blank Ė itís the fact that it repeats the texture here, which looks really ugly!

    Any help would be very much appreciated!

  2. #2
    Senior Member andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    781
    That can happen if part of the UV projection cuts through your cylinder, but I've only seen it a couple times, and never in Bunkspeed.
    But, that's not to say that isn't what's causing it.

    So try out this and see if it helps.
    First make sure you set your texture projection to cylinder of course.
    Now just increase the scale in width and length, not height (unless you need to do that to make your texture look correct).

    What that does is ensures the projection is All projecting in toward the object. If it intersects with your surface the normals may cause a flip in the projection so will project backwards and tile differently.

    See if that works. Bunkspeed might not be pulling the correct bounding box from ProE, so you may just have to increase it manually. Doing that in only the two directions won't actually increase the size of the texture, so no worries there. Changing the Height, however, will change the size of your texture.

    I'm saying l,w,h because xyz may be different. So assign the correct scale to each one accordingly.

  3. #3
    Junior Member touptitamis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13
    Hi, last time we spoke about Pro-E/creo plugin , David answer that the plugin work fine with both version of Creo. Just try it, it's more efficient than convert pro-e file to .obj or .stp.

    Actually, with Creo 1.0 M030, I have to "rebuild normal" of eatch part to have a correct model; but I think it's came from Creo version, I will try with the creo 1.0 M040 when I successfully download it.

    First of all, try the plugin.

    I have a lot of issue with differents customers when I realize export from Pro-E to .obj or .stp. I remenber that with Pro-e wildfire 3 we do .obj model without problems for soft like trucksim; and when we got wildfire 4, there was no way to genertate an compatible .obj. it's Pro-e, the endless generator of problems.

  4. #4
    Junior Member Phimy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    18
    raytraceoff.jpgraytraceon.jpg

    Thanks very much for this. I've tried what you have said and am still getting the same results. The attached screenshots illustrate the repeated texture that appears when I switch raytracing on. The cylinder here was created within Bunkspeed, in a new scene, without any imported objects from Creo. I've also tried opening Bunkspeed in CPU mode, Hybrid mode and with Maximus turned on and off - same every time. I've also tried scaling as small and large as I can, leaving height as it is (0.0010, 1.0000, 0.0010) (999999986991104.0000, 1.000, 999999986991104.0000)

  5. #5
    Junior Member Phimy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    18
    Hi Touptitamus,

    The texture mapping problem doesn't seem to be caused by ProE/Creo on this occasion, as I get the same problem with native parts created in Bunkspeed.

    I'm currently running Creo 2.0 M010. I played around with the plugin for a while, trying different tesselation settings, units, scales etc and for opaque parts seemed absolutely fine. However, transparent parts had very strange refractions, which I couldn't fix with the IOR or thickness, so when OBJ worked, I gave up on it.

    I've just retried it, rebuilding the normals as you've suggested and that seems to have fixed the refraction error, so thanks very much for that! I'm a bit wary about getting into the habit of using the plugin for my workflow (especially as OBJ seems to work well), as I have had some "interesting" results in the past each time PTC has launched a new release or patch! I also don't really see what the benefit of the plugin is, over File>Save As>OBJ?

  6. #6
    Junior Member touptitamis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    France
    Posts
    13
    Hi,
    yes, texture problem doesn't seem came from any pro-e problem.

    We use shot to make simple picture of what our product would be in production, I usually have to make picture of assembly with almost 50 to 100 parts ( each part's got at least 2 parts in shot, for 1 for rough area and 1 for machined area). So in shot it's gave a huge amont of parts. before pro-e plugin released, a realize step file then import it in shot. It's take over 30 minutes to import it, with pro-e plugin same product ( and same workstation) it's take less than 4-5 minutes ( with tesselation set to 0.2).

    That's why I prefere using the pro-e plugin.

  7. #7
    Senior Member andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    781
    Oh hey, you're right.
    This has nothing to do with ProE. It's a Bunkspeed bug. I just tested it myself. Something is just wrong with the cylindrical mapping.
    I get the same thing. It looks fine in raster mode, but when you switch to render mode you get a small sliver of repeated texture where the seam of the cylinder is.
    I tested it on a model created by adding a cylinder right in bunkspeed, then changing it's mode from UV to cylindrical mapping.

  8. #8
    Junior Member Phimy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    18
    Touptitamus,

    I understand now where the plugin is useful - I'm quite lucky in that my assemblies only usually have about 10 parts!

    Andy,

    Thanks for checking that. I've still to try installing 2012.5 to see if this fixes/reduces the problem...

  9. #9
    Junior Member Phimy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    18
    Gah! I was hopeful after reading "Seamless, ray traced box mapping eliminating obvious seams". I've just tried 2012.5 and it's still a problem on cylindrical maps...

    Forgot to mention previously - spherical mapping has the same problem.

  10. #10
    Junior Member Phimy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    18
    Can anyone suggest a workaround for this? - Other than "hide the seam at the back and don't do turntable animations"!

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts