+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: camera import from maya

  1. #1

    camera import from maya

    Hi,

    I am having no luck importing a camera from maya into bunkspeed. The camera imports but it is in a totally crazy place and not even remotely close.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    Richard

  2. #2
    Administrator Brian.Muhlbach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    San Diego, Ca
    Posts
    51
    Richard,

    When exporting from Maya, are you exporting as an OBJ or FBX file?

  3. #3
    Hi Brian,

    I am using FBX. It is not possible to export camera information with an obj format. Well I did not think it was.

    Thanks,

    Richard

  4. #4
    Administrator david.randle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,252
    What happens when you import the .mb file directly? We do support .mb import although not from Maya 2013 yet.
    David Randle / General Manager / Bunkspeed

  5. #5
    Ah ok. It did not look possible to import maya files as they were not listed in the possible import file type list. (.mb .ma)

    I am using Maya 2013 but have 2012 on my machine so can try that.

    My trial license of Bunkspeed expired but hope I can get an extended one. Will talk with Angela.

    Many thanks,

    Richard

  6. #6
    Hey,

    Is there any news if the Maya-Camera import via importing the whole *.mb scene is working yet?
    On my 2014 pro version i can't import any .ma/.mb files, as they're not even listed in the file formats folder plus drag'n'drop doesn't work either. But in the manual it is written as possible, like even dave said.

    Any tips how i can manage to import maya files?

    Cheers

  7. #7
    Administrator david.randle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,252
    Maya needs to be installed and licensed on the same machine as Pro to be able to import .mb files.
    David Randle / General Manager / Bunkspeed

  8. #8
    Junior Member bondie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    2
    I have Maya installed and licensed on the same machine as Bunkspeed Drive. I cannot import a Maya .mb into Bunkspeed, also I'm having problems importing cameras into Bunkspeed Drive with an FBX. The FBX cameras that I've imported into BD have been out of place, making them unusable....any news on that front? Any common suggestions for importing cameras from Maya to Bunkspeed?

  9. #9
    Administrator david.randle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,252
    @bondie - the maya import was improved dramatically for 2014.3. We just released this version but havn't sent out the blast yet. If you go to http://installs.bunkspeed.com/2014/BunkspeedPro.zip it will pull down the latest version.

    Also, this version supports animated cameras via fbx.

    Thanks
    David Randle / General Manager / Bunkspeed

  10. #10
    Does it also directly import Solidworks 2014 part and assembly files ?

    Just wonderin' =)

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts